Shining a Light on Shaye Design

This week, I wanted to do a post on a local business. Now the business I will be talking about does a lot of different products and I’ll be showing you some of my favorites.

Now y’all, this is one of my absolute favorite local businesses. Shaye Design was introduced to me by a friend and I have been obsessed since my first set of pillowcases. Shaye Design was founded in 2014, and is run by a CPUT Fashion graduate (we’re both technically alumni 😉 and is based in Northpine, Brackenfell (if you’re not in Cape Town – delivery can be arranged). She makes various custom-made items but mainly focuses on satin garments and hair accessories.

The first couple of items I bought for myself were satin pillow cases – which came with complimentary satin scrunchies – and then went on to buy myself a bonnet. Now I will be completely honest, I am not part of the natural hair community – not because I have anything against, I genuinely aspire to be that fierce, I just haven’t fully committed to the transition. The bonnet was my feeble attempt to start my natural hair journey, but even with straight hair I am reaping all the benefits. It is believed that sleeping with a satin bonnet has all sorts of benefits for your hair like prevention of tangling, less frizz and minimized dryness.

Some items made and sold by Shaye Design

But bonnets are not the only hair accessories this girl makes, like mentioned before – there are scrunchies, headbands, edge control bands, deep conditioning caps and that’s only haircare items. My personal favorite definitely has to be the scrunchies, because they are literally the easiest thing for me to have with me when I get annoyed by my hair and just want to throw it up into a bun (this is 15 minutes after deciding to have my hair untied). It is also such a blessing because it does not tangle my hair like other hair ties would.

Wearing the Shaye Design scrunchie and scrunchie headband

Next on my list is sleepwear. I’ll start of with the sleep set which is so comfortable and feels so soft on your body. Now I don’t know if satin has any special benefits for bodies, but this was made for those special self-care evenings / days. You know the one, hair is washed, legs shaved, moisturized to perfection, soft sheets, movies ..

Shaye Design Sleep Set

Wearing the next item makes me feel like a rich house wife who just inherited her late husbands riches. LUXARY! The kimono is something I’d wear on special occasions. For my one specifically, the color is exquisite, and it just makes me feel absolutely fabulous.

Shaye Design Kimono

Now if you’re in desperate need of a night out, or the date night all ladies dream of (getting dressed up in something not smart casual), custom party dresses are also made in your style of choice. I am obsessed with my little cream dress with criss-cross straps.

Shaye Design Party Dress

Overall, besides the fact that you can already tell I am completely obsessed with the business – Shaye Design offers quality products which hold benefits for you as the customer. All items are packaged with a personalized note thanking you for your support and stuff like that always makes me feel appreciated. I would a 100% recommend Shaye Design for all your satin needs.

If you wanna check out some more items from Shaye Design, and see all of the custom work that she’s done you should definitely check out her Instagram page – @shayedesign . Below is a pricelist – please note all these items are in satin and in the color of your choice. She also does custom orders which are priced individually.

Let me know in the comments what your favorite of my favorites was, support local and definitely support Shaye Design. Keep an eye on my Instagram for me actually wearing all of my cute Shaye Design originals.

Leave a comment